The Seven Major Chakras

For centuries the ancient wisdom keepers and healers in several traditions had a keen understanding of the energetic body. The healing traditions from China, India, Japan and Tibet, as well as other countries all spoke of energy channels, meridians or nadis along which the vital energy flowed.

They state that we have energy or Prana as it's known in yoga flowing through our bodies every second of the day. This energy flows through tiny energy channels called Nadis. According to some ancient Indian books we have 72,000 Nadis which are all connected by the Chakras. And the Chakras regulate the flow of energy or Prana.

Recently scientists at Seoul National University confirmed the existence of meridians (or Nadis as they are known in Ancient Indian philosophy), which they refer to as the “primo-vascular system.” They say that this system is a crucial part of the cardiovascular system.

We have 7 main energy channels that run up our spinal cord and these are known as the 7 Chakras. I studied the Chakras as part of my Reiki course but I have always been interested in them since a very young age.

Blocked energy in our seven Chakras can often lead to illness, so it's important to understand what each Chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely. Blocked chakras can be balanced in a variety of ways, from Reiki, sound healing, essential oils, crystals, yoga and meditation.

1st Chakra - The Root Chakra, known as Muladhara

This Chakra is concerned with earthly grounding, physical survival, trust, money and a sense of belonging. It controls your fight or flight response.

Location: Base of spine in the tailbone area.

Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.

Blockages may manifest as paranoia, fear, procrastination and defensiveness.

How to balance: meditation, gardening, baking, walking in nature and feeling gratitude for the universe.

Crystals for balancing: Smoky Quartz, Red Garnet, Hematite, Red Jasper and Black Onyx.

2nd Chakra - The Sacral Chakra, known as Svadhishthana

This Chakra is concerned with emotion. This Chakra represents desire, pleasure, sexuality, emotions and creativity.

Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in.

Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, wellbeing, self expression, pleasure and sexuality

Blockages may manifest as emotional problems, compulsive or obsessive behaviour and sexual guilt.

How to balance: yoga, painting and drawing.

Crystals for balancing: Amber, Carnelian, Goldstone, Orange Calcite and Tiger’s Eye.

3rd Chakra - The Solar Plexus Chakra, known as Manipura

This Chakra is concerned with your digestive system, muscles, pancreas and adrenals. It is the seat of your emotional life. Feelings of personal power, laughter, joy, self-esteem and anger are associated with this centre.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.

Blockages may manifest as anger, frustration, lack of direction or a sense of victimisation.

How to balance: yoga and dancing.

Crystals for balancing: Citrine, Yellow Jade, Rutilated Quartz and Pyrite.

4th Chakra - The Heart Chakra, known as Anahata

This Chakra is the centre of love, compassion, harmony and peace. Ancient Chinese wisdom states that this is the house of the soul.

Location: centre of chest just above the heart.

Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace.

Blockages can manifest as inhumanity, lack of compassion, jealousy, fear, envy or unprincipled behaviour.

How to balance: learn to love yourself, look in the mirror every morning and find something you like physical or not and smile.

Crystals for balancing: Amazonite, Chrysoprase, Emerald, Aventurine, Green Calcite and Rose Quartz.

5th Chakra - The Throat Chakra, known as Vishuddha

This Chakra is the Chakra of communication, creativity, self-expression and judgement. It is concerned with the senses of inner and outer hearing, the synthesising of ideas, healing, transformation and purification.

Location: Throat.

Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth.

Blockages can show up as creative blocks, dishonesty, shyness or general problems in communicating ones needs to others.

How to balance: singing, humming or chanting.

Crystals for balancing: Angelite, Kyanite, Sodalite, Apatite and Aquamarine.

6th Chakra - The Third Eye Chakra, known as Ajna

This Chakra is used to question the spiritual nature of our life. It is concerned with inner vision, intuition and wisdom.

Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra).

Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.

Blockages may manifest as problems like lack of foresight, mental rigidity, lack of imagination, memory and depression.

How to balance: meditation, Tai Chi, yoga, visualisation.

Crystals for balancing: Amethyst, Fluorite, Iolite, Charoite and Angelite.

7th Chakra - The Crown Chakra, known as Sahasrara

This Chakra is concerned with information, understanding, acceptance and bliss. It is said to be your own place of connection to to a higher power, the Chakra of Divine purpose and personal destiny.

Location: The very top of the head.

Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss, understanding, fulfilment and self-realisation.

Blockages can manifest as loss of meaning or identity, trust and inspiration.

How to balance: meditation and energy work.

Crystals for balancing: Amethyst, Clear Quartz, Lepidolite, Blue Lace Agate and Ametrine.

If you have any questions on the Chakras please let me know as I would love to help.

Reiki can help unblock all your Chakras as the therapist works on each Chakra for a number of minutes. Reiki is a healing technique based on the principle that the therapist can channel energy into the patient by means of touch, to activate the natural healing processes of the patient's body and restore physical and emotional well-being.

I will definitely be writing a blog about Reiki very soon.

Lots of Love,


Anna B xo

#Wellness #Chakras #Reiki #Yoga #Meditation